Middle East finale for Oscar Piastri as he aims to secure Formula Renault title

Australian racer Oscar Piastri heads to Yas Marina in the Middle East this week (October 24-26) as he aims to take the Formula Renault Eurocup title at the final round of the 2019 season.

Leading the standings by 13.5 points, the R-ace GP driver has the upper hand but knows he cannot rest on his laurels if he wants to make it a clean sweep of titles for the team after it claimed the Teams’ and Rookie’ Championships in Germany last time out.

With six victories – more than anyone else – ten podiums in total, and 15 top-five finishes in the 18 races so far, Melbournian Oscar has been the class of a talented field of drivers and comes into the final two races on the back of an impressive two days in the post-season FIA Formula 3 Championship test.

Despite his good existing knowledge of the 5.554km home of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Oscar’s rivals will have plenty of track time to catch up on him with a three-and-a-half-hour free practice session on Thursday, October 24, before the two 50-minute Collective Tests that afternoon and evening.

The standard format of qualifying and a race follows on Friday 25th, at 11:30 and 18:00 Gulf Standard Time (08:30 / 15:00 BST, 18:30 / 01:00 AEST) and Saturday 26th, at 09:00 and 13:30 (06:00 / 10:30 BST, 16:00 / 20:30 AEST). Live coverage will be provided by the series on both days, with links shared on Oscar’s official Facebook and Twitter pages.

© 2019 Sebastiaan Rozendaal / Dutch Photo Agency.

Oscar Piastri

“The final round of the championship is at Yas Marina. It’s a new track for the Formula Renault Eurocup, but not for myself – I’ve been there a few times in UAE Formula 4 as well as for GP3 Series testing [pictured below].

“The circuit has some cool scenery and going under the hotel is one of the unique features of the venue. It has a technical and slow final sector which can undo a few people. We’ve got a four-hour test session followed by CT1 and CT2 though, so there’s plenty of time for everyone to familiarise themselves.

“Our pace has been really strong in the dry all season, so I’m really looking forward to it. Hopefully, my experience pulls through at the weekend and we can come away with a big trophy as well. That would be cool!”